Home > Community, Healthcare, Social media, Word-of-mouth > 2011: A year of excitement for me

2011: A year of excitement for me

It’s been a busy start to 2011 for me — especially with beginning  a new job as Media Manager at Catholic Health Partners, a Cincinnati-based non-profit healthcare system with 100-some facilities in five states. CHP is the largest healthcare system in Ohio and one of the largest non-profit systems in the country.

But I remain committed to sharing my experience with public relations, social media marketing and the like in my “spare time” on this blog.

My journey into healthcare has been fascinating and exciting. I feel extremely fortunate to be a part of healthcare reform. It reminds me of when I started my previous job and the country was researching, planning and implementing welfare reform.

Here are a few tidbits to share from my first six weeks on the job and attendance at recent events sponsored by Cincinnati Social Media, New Media Cincinnati and the Cincinnati Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America:

* An excellent document called Social Media Guidelines & Best Practices created by Catholic Healthcare West. I really like the conversational writing style.

* A great resource for those in healthcare public relations and marketing called the Social Media Health Network. The Mayo Clinic is leading this exciting effort.

* Some great tips from Debba Haupert at the most-recent  New Media Cincinnati for building your online community.

* Thought-provoking thoughts on word-of-mouth marketing by Geno Church of Brains on Fire, who spoke at PRSA this month. See my @MikeBoehmer57 Twitter stream on Feb. 22 or visit the #cincyprsa hashtag for notes.

* An excellent discussion of using social media for market research took place at the most-recent Cincinnati Social Media gathering. Can’t seem to find a link in my time allotment for this post! Try Google. :-)

Hope your 2011 is off to a good start. Feel free to share any helpful PR or social media marketing learnings with us in the comments.Disclaimer: This post represents my thoughts and opinions and not necessarily those of my employer.

 

  1. February 27, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    Sounds like you found a home at CHP. I will enjoy following you on twitter and other social media forums.

    Best,
    Nathan Fultz

    • mikeboehmer57
      March 9, 2011 at 8:38 am

      Yes. It’s a great place. Look forward to meeting you sometime.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,811 other followers

