Home > Audio, Social media > And now…a word from our sponsors

And now…a word from our sponsors

Another free tool for connecting with key audiences

 

 

 

Social media experimentation took me into the world of Internet radio this year. Somewhere along the social media path, I learned about BlogTalkRadio.

 
I’d wanted to expand on simple audio podcasting, but didn’t have much time and money to invest. I think it was Debba Haupert of Girlfriendology who told me about BlogTalkRadio.
 
Anyway, I decided to learn the technical basics by interviewing local social media enthusiasts last spring on the PR Mike in Cincy Show. It was really cool interviewing the founders of Cincinnati Social Media, New Media Cincinnati, LinkedCincinnati and the like. The test shows even got between 15 and 70 downloads each.
 
Feeling confident (sort of), I launched the Hamilton County JFS Show in June. I have mainly interviewed experts in the agency’s programs such as food stamps, Medicaid, cash assistance, child support, child care, employment services, adoption, foster care….
 
The shows are averaging about 50 downloads, with one recently topping 100. They are recorded live. Afterward, people can download (listen at their PC) to an archived show.
 
Granted, the shows aren’t challenging WLW-AM or even WAIF-FM in listenership, but they are allowing us to convey useful information in a cost-effective manner. Setup takes minutes, and the live interview is 15 minutes long. I have a control panel on my PC (a tool in BlogTalkRadio) and the subject calls in from wherever, usually their office.
 
We use the free version, which can have occasional technical glitches. And, if you’ve listened, you can tell that I have limited radio experience.
 
Still, it’s a useful tool — one we plan to continue using in 2010.
 
By the way, I’m thinking about resuming the PR Mike in Cincy Show and interviewing social media enthusiasts. Would you like me to do that? Let me know in the comments.
  1. May 22, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the work
    you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like
    you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

