Home > Measurement > Comprehensive look at Web Analytics

Comprehensive look at Web Analytics

Comprehensive. That’s the word that comes to mind — and stays there — when describing Web Analytics 2.0: The Art of Online Accountability & Science of Customer Centricity by Avinash Kaushik.

This book is packed with 475 pages of information about online marketing. Plus, you get a CD with podcasts, videos and presentations.

To top that off, there’s a $25 Google Adwords coupon.

And all of the proceeds from the book go to two charities, The Smile Train and The Ekal Vidyalaya Foundation.

Kaushik, author of the research and analytics blog Occam’s Razor and the Analytics Evangelist for Google, covers an amazing amount of detail. He walks you through step-by-step approaches for selecting measurement tools, setting them up to capture relevant data, and sorting, analyzing and reporting findings. He shares best practices for blending online research with offline digging.

Kaushik does a great job of keeping what could be a dry topic very entertaining. His conveys his thoughts in conversational style.

I’m planning to use this book as a reference as I strive to implement up-to-date PR measurement practices in place in my day job. It also will help me support marketing of my wife’s upcoming book From Incurable to Incredible: Cancer Survivors Who Beat the Odds.

I’ve highlighted portions dealing with areas such as what to measure, how to do usability testing, how to administer surveys…. Already, a section on quick tagging has given our IS manager at work a process that will allow us to compare Web Trends against Google Analytics.

Many parts of the book didn’t pertain to me, though. They were written more to large corporations with big Web teams, including several (or more) people with full-time jobs as Web analysts. I skimmed those pages.

And I’ve decided that I’ll need to enlist the help of someone who loves working with numbers and Excel. I’m a word person, not a data cruncher.

Still, for the reasons mentioned above, I highly recommend this COMPREHENSIVE book.

  1. February 20, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    I keep hearing good things about this book, Mike. As someone who comes from a data background, I enjoy looking at my own web analytics statistics. I am finding, though, that I have less a propensity for crunching the numbers as looking at what stories they tell.

    It will be added to the reading list!

    • mikeboehmer57
      February 20, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      Yes, Daniel, I think you would really like this one. Let me know what you think about it!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

