Home > Social media > Adding to the social media toolkit

Adding to the social media toolkit

You've got to have the right tools to build a social media presence.

Excuse me if this post isn’t clear. I’m writing at 2:01 a.m., very early on a Saturday morning/night.

I’ve added a new tool to my social media arsenal — a Droid from Verizon.

Bought the smart phone just before our local store closed for the evening. An ambitious salesman was kind enough to stay late and help get my Droid ready for action, as well as the BlackBerry Curve that my wife inherited from me.

I woke up awhile ago with a bit of anxiety about moving from BlackBerry to Droid.

The Curve has served me well the past 16 months, allowing me to tweet text, photos and live video from events such as the Greater Cincinnati Chamber of Commerce’s Bold Fusion, PRSA luncheons, Cincinnati Social Media events, New Media Cincinnati meetups… It brought me into the world of texting and frequent e-mail checking.

It’s been a central element in my social media work, perhaps more important than my beloved laptop! It’s definitely more vital than the flip camera that I’ve yet to really use.

Anyway, I’m feeling the same way that I did when I bought the Curve. Is it really worth the $30-per-month data charge? (Now, we’ve got a second $30 charge for my wife, too.) Will I look like a bozo trying to learn how to make this thing work? Will I neglect healthy practices such as exercise — and sleep? Should I have stuck with the BlackBerry? I already miss the raised keys.

Then, the rational side kicks in: This is an investment. If I really want to do social media properly, I need the tools. I need to stay on top of this stuff.

Whew. I feel much better now. Maybe I will get some sleep after all.

What hardware do you find essential in your social media work? I’d love to hear your tales of triumph.

  1. April 3, 2010 at 7:39 am

    My Droid is the Droid Eris by HTC and I worried that I might not like EVERYTHING being touch screen (no querty board), but I have actually come to love it. The phone is SO user friendly and works great for everything I need. I was recently given the opportunity to try out the Palm Pre Plus by Verizon, but I have to say…once my test drive was over, I could not wait to get back to my Droid. Awesome phone!

    • mikeboehmer57
      April 3, 2010 at 9:46 am

      Thanks, Becky! I’m such a worry wart. I’ve been playing around with my Droid — and already am getting the hang of things. Glad you shared your positive experience. That helped!

  2. April 3, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    We’re eligible for an upgrade, and I’ve been seriously thinking of getting a smartphone like the Droid. I’ve seen this in action and am really looking forward to trying out Google Goggles. Open it up and snap a picture of a business card you just received from someone, and it adds the information as a contact record in your phone!

    • mikeboehmer57
      April 3, 2010 at 8:53 pm

      Thanks for the tip. Just downloaded Google Goggles. It’s awesome.

  3. April 7, 2010 at 9:39 am

    You need the latest tools if you’re going to be an expert in social media. Plus I need a Blackberry for my work! It is worth the investment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

