Home > Social media > Teaching my first social media class

Teaching my first social media class

Last month, I had the pleasure of sharing some social media basics with  a small group of mostly beginners.

Time flew by as I went through some statistics about the rapid growth of social networks and gave quick overviews about Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube, WordPress, Blogger and the like.

The group included several small businesspersons looking for ways to build awareness and draw potential customers. It was wonderful to see them open their minds to the possibilities of social media. I encouraged them to set goals, sign up for accounts, and test the various social networks.

I showed how I have used the various platforms at work, for networking, and for keeping in touch with people. My wife told about how she is using social media to share hope and inspiration with those who are battling cancer.

Overall, it was a very positive experience for all of us. Here are the slides that I used for the first 30 minutes of the three-hour class. The remainder was mostly devoted to showing how I’ve used Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and WordPress — with my actual sites and pages projected on a screen.

If you’d like a similar class, or an individual consultation, please contact me.

Categories: Social media Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

