Home > Blogs > How to subscribe to blogs without filling your e-mail inbox

How to subscribe to blogs without filling your e-mail inbox

Recently, somebody made a good point to me while I was selling her on the idea of doing a blog. She wondered how we could get busy people to read the blog — without having to visit the site to look for updates, or without needing to subscribe to yet-another e-mail alert.

I explained how I use iGoogle and, to a lesser extent, Google Reader to read the latest posts on 10-15 blogs on my must-read list. I also among a few old-timers who use the Feeds area in my Internet Explorer browser to keep track of blogs and Twitter search term updates, but I didn’t want to go into that.

For me, it’s been very time-effective to have connections to about 10 blogs on my iGoogle page. I can see the name of each blog — as well as the three most-recent posts on each. Also, I do subscribe to other feeds through Google Reader, which appears on my iGoogle page, too. But I haven’t learned near as much about Google Reader as I should. I’ve read several posts lately about power users who employ the Reader to manage subscriptions to dozens of blogs and websites. I’ve got room for improvement in that area.

All of this makes me really appreciate that I took a home-study course years back about RSS (Really Simple Syndication). I take it for granted that people know to click on that ever-present orange square to subscribe to blogs and websites. No need to go visit the blog to see if it’s been updated. No necessity to subscribe to yet-another e-mail.

Yet I’m finding that a lot of people aren’t familiar with RSS, iGoogle and Google Reader, or Internet Explorer Feeds. Another opportunity for me to share some of what I’ve learned about these tools.

I’m really curious to hear how you manage your blog reading. Please let me know in the comments section.

Categories: Blogs Tags: , ,
  1. May 3, 2011 at 11:22 am

    Hi, Mike. Great topic! I didn’t know what RSS was until about 2 year ago and it’s lightened my inbox ever since. I manage my RSS subscriptions on my mobile devices (iPhone and iPad) with an application called Pulse News. Pulse News actually has the option to integrate with your Google Reader account so changes or additions to your subscriptions are replicated across all platforms. Pulse does a beautiful job of organizing and presenting the articles and the UI is amazing. I stay updated on all of the blogs that I follow when I’m on the go so this is perfect for me.

  2. mikeboehmer57
    May 3, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Thanks, Stephen. I can’t wait to try Pulse News.

  3. May 6, 2011 at 9:51 am

    I’ve used iGoogle and Google Reader. I still also use NetVibes. Those very few blogs I really want to keep up with I subscribe via email.

    What I like about iGoogle and NetVibes is that you have your entire reading material on a dashboard. It’s like a huge bookshelf!

    • mikeboehmer57
      May 6, 2011 at 9:54 am

      Thanks, Daniel. I’ll have to check out NetVibes. That’s what I like about iGoogle, is the dashboard. It’s like a menu of great materials that I select from when I get a free moment or two.

  4. May 16, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Hi, Mike. Great topic! I didn’t know what RSS was until about 2 year ago and it’s lightened my inbox ever since. I manage my RSS subscriptions on my mobile devices (iPhone and iPad) with an application called Pulse News. Pulse News actually has the option to integrate with your Google Reader account so changes or additions to your subscriptions are replicated across all platforms. Pulse does a beautiful job of organizing and presenting the articles and the UI is amazing. I stay updated on all of the blogs that I follow when I’m on the go so this is perfect for me.
    +1

    • mikeboehmer57
      May 30, 2011 at 12:22 pm

      Thanks, Elaina. I’ve been testing Pulse News, and really like it. (Sorry it took so long to reply. For some reason, your comment was in my spam folder.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

