Home > Healthcare, Networking, public relations, Social media, Traditional media > 2011 in review — The year I moved into health care social media #hcsm

2011 in review — The year I moved into health care social media #hcsm

It was a thrill for me to meet E-Patient Dave DeBronkart at the Health Care Social Media Summit at the Mayo Clinic

2011 will go down as an amazing year in my book — one in which I made the transition into health care social media (and media relations, web content, internal communications… in the health care world). I started a job as media manager at Catholic Health Partners, the largest health system in Ohio and one of the largest non-profit systems in the country, on Jan. 10. 

I have no regrets about leaving a satisfying career in government public relations after almost 17 years to enter health care at a time of tremendous transformation. It reminds me of when I started in government social services — and the country was in the midst of welfare reform. I feel extremely fortunate to be involved in such important events.

Here are some highlights from 2011, a year that I believe has set the stage for an even more incredible 2012:

* Attending the Health Care Social Media Summit at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., in October. I’m still in awe of the experience of connecting with health care social media leaders from across the country (as well as several other nations). I choke up when I tell people about meeting people such as E-Patient Dave DeBronkart, who are using social media to save lives. I made connections with dozens of PR and marketing pros from hospitals and health systems who are passionate about making a difference for the patients and families we serve. I also connected with doctors and nurses who have embraced social media as a way to improve the health of their communities. We continue to connect via Twitter chats, Facebook. LinkedIn…

* Leading the Catholic Health Partners Social Media Champions!, a group of social media practitioners from across the system. We confer regularly via online forums and phone, sharing best practices and lessons learned. We met in August for a Social Media Summit, featuring Krista Neher, author of the Social Media Field Guide and CEO of Boot Camp Digital. It was awesome hearing from Krista, who took a lot of time preparing for this health care audience. I sincerely appreciate the fine work she did.

* Participating in media training offered by Empower MediaMarketing. It was probably one of the most challenging experiences of my PR career, guiding a selection process that led to us choosing Empower over a number of firms that provide excellent media training. But Empower didn’t disappoint. Highly regarded PR pros Kevin Dugan, Ashley Walters and Claire Guappone packed a lot into a tight time frame. They also were flexible and catered to our needs.

* Working with an amazing team of seasoned professionals at Catholic Health Partners. (In all reality, this is No. 1 by far.) Greg Smith, my manager, has decades of health care experience and is a great all-around person. Debbie Copeland-Bloom is the consummate PR professional, also with an extensive health care background. Kathi McQuade knows video production like nobody else I’ve encountered. Carrie Allison is a talented PR pro with lots of years in health care. I am so blessed to be a part of this team. They are a joy to be around. I learn something from them every day.

* Supporting my wife’s blog and book. In case you didn’t know, Tami Boehmer is author of From Incurable to Incredible: Cancer Survivors Who Beat the Odds and the highly acclaimed www.miraclesurvivors.com blog. Despite battling Stage IV breast cancer, she pushes on and inspires and informs many. Here is her year in review.

* Reading lots of good books and getting some new gadgets. This seems trivial, compared to the above. But I read some really good books this year. You can read my reports elsewhere on this blog or see my reading list on my LinkedIn profile. Through the power of social media such as this blog and Twitter, I connected with most of them individually. As for the gadgets, I got a tablet (Kindle Fire) and a new Android phone. My daughter delights in my geekness!

* Attending lots of great events offered by Cincinnati PRSA, Cincinnati Social Media, New Media Cincinnati and the Cincinnati American Marketing Association. They all put on very good programs and gave us a place to connect with others who are passionate about our profession. I encourage you to check out their websites or LinkedIn pages.

* Returning to Twitter full-force after a detour into Google+ and health care blogland. There are lots and lots of health care folks (PR, marketing, clinicians, techies…) in areas such as #mccsm and #hcsm. I have learned so much from them — and hopefully have shared links and tidbits that have helped them. (Find me on Twitter at @MikeBoehmer57).

There are just some thoughts that come to mind as I sit here on a PTO day, reflecting after a walk around the neighborhood. I’m really excited about the year ahead. I think we can all make a positive difference in the lives of others through the power of social media. Great potential lies ahead!

 

 

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

